We’re Passionate about Medical Cannabis.
And we’ve seen the powerful impact it can have firsthand. Between a vast, growing network of dispensaries, a committed, knowledgeable staff, and a wide selection of meticulously curated cannabis products, we offer a solution for every patient.
Learn more about how to become or refer a patient in Florida below!
Becoming a Patient
Florida law has several requirements for patients to be eligible to receive low-THC marijuana (CBD) or medical marijuana:
- A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition.
- A patient must be a Florida resident.
- If under the age of 18, a patient must have a second physician agree to the use of low-THC marijuana (CBD) or medical marijuana to obtain a certification from a qualified physician.
- A patient must be registered with the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by a certified physician
A patient can be certified to use medical marijuana in Florida state if they suffer from one of the following:
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed above
- A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
- Chronic nonmalignant pain. Chronic nonmalignant pain means pain that is caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition.
Qualifications for a Registration Certificate:
Only a licensed physician can decide if you qualify for medical marijuana under Florida law. Here are the steps you need to take to become a qualified patient of Curaleaf:
- Schedule an appointment with a qualified physician who has taken the required training to certification medical marijuana for patients.
- Once your physician has determined that you qualify, your physician will register you on the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and issue a CERTIFICATION for you.
- Once you have applied for and been approved for your Medical Marijuana Use Registry ID Card, your physician will place an ORDER/RECOMMENDATION for you in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry for Low-THC (CBD) and/or Medical Marijuana products.
Before being approved as a qualified physician, and before each license renewal, a physician must successfully complete a 2-hour course and subsequent examination offered by the Florida Medical Association or the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association. Register for the course here.
In order to issue a Certification to a patient, the patient will need to wait until the Office of Medical Marijuana Use approves their application before purchasing any products. In order to qualify the patient, a physician must also have:
- Conduct a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient and a full assessment of the medical history of the patient.
- Diagnose the patient with at least one qualifying medical condition.
- Determine that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for the patient. If a patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with this determination, and such concurrence must be documented in the patient’s medical record.
- Determine whether the patient is pregnant and document such determination in the patient’s medical record. A physician may not issue a physician certification, except for low-THC marijuana (CBD), to a patient who is pregnant.
- Review the patient’s controlled drug prescription history in the prescription drug monitoring program database established pursuant to s. 893.055.
- Review the medical marijuana use registry and confirmed that the patient does not have an active physician certification from another qualified physician.
- Register as the issuer of the physician certification for the named qualified patient on the medical marijuana use registry in an electronic manner determined by the department, and:
- Enter into the registry the contents of the physician certification, including the patient’s qualifying condition and the dosage not to exceed the daily dose amount determined by the department, the amount and forms of marijuana authorized for the patient, and any types of marijuana delivery devices needed by the patient for the medical use of marijuana.
- Update the registry within 7 days after any change is made to the original physician certification to reflect such change.
- Deactivate the registration of the qualified patient and the patient’s caregiver when the physician no longer recommends the medical use of marijuana for the patient.
- Obtain voluntary and informed written consent of the patient for medical use of marijuana each time the qualified physician issues a physician certification for the patient, which shall be maintained in the patient’s medical record. The patient, or the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor, must sign the informed consent acknowledging that the qualified physician has sufficiently explained its content. The qualified physician must use a standardized informed consent form adopted in rule by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine which shall be maintained in the patient’s medical record. The patient, or the patient’s parent or legal guardian if the patient is a minor, must sign the informed consent acknowledging that the qualified physician has sufficiently explained its content. The qualified physician must use a standardized informed consent form adopted in rule by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine.